I Don’t Want To Be A Man ….

As I’ve recorded previously I came out as transgender in December 2014. Late January 2015 I decided to write about a blog about my experiences as the transgender community is still new to a lot of people. Also many transgender people don’t want to share their experiences in fear of being ridiculed or even worse being physically attacked or even murdered. I understand those fears. However I wanted to be as open as possible and at the same time raising awareness.

I’m very open about wanting to fully transition. I want to change now but alas the NHS is very slow. I hate being a man. I tried to conform to my birth gender for 47 years but can no longer do it. It just isn’t me! As I’ve grown older and became more aware about gender issues I know being a man isn’t for me.

It came to a point where I no longer wanted to even wear male clothing so my wardrobe changed to the clothes I wanted to wear.

Then it became my old name that had to go. Now I’m having to pressure my GP into hormone replacement therapy and later down the line fully transitioning.

I’ve also become very resentful how men tend to treat women and people who identify as non-binary. Domestic and Sexual violence kept rearing its ugly head. I was also left dismayed at lots of men (and some women too) victim blame Marie Repulsive for the unforgivable actions of her former partner. It was what happened to Marie that made me open my eyes to what utter wankers men can be at times.

Then I saw abuse the likes of Laura Bates (Everyday Sexism), Caroline Criado-Perez (Journalist / Author), Laurie Penny (Journalist / Author) and Lucy-Anne Holmes (No More Page Three). It sickened me. In fact all misogynist and sexist abuse women get on-line and in real life is sickening.

As a male I had enough. With all that taken on board I no longer wished to identify as a male!

In other words Patriarchy sucks!

I love being Hope. I love identifying as the real me. Transitioning has quickly changed my life for the better. Yes I’ve copped some abuse from being called a pervert right through to hearing many transphobic slurs come my way. I can deal with that. It’s those people who have the problem -Not me!

Trans issues may not be high on many agendas but I’m raising them as they shouldn’t be ignored.

Take Sky for example a huge company with millions of pounds profit every year. They have the best technology money can buy yet can’t add ‘Mx’ a gender neutral title to their systems. As a customer I want to be recognised as Mx Hope Lye. If I wanted to be known as Mr Hope Lye I wouldn’t have bothered changing my Christian name.

Now Sky aren’t the only guilty party. There’s plenty out there and when I deal with those companies I’m going to fight for my correct identity. I will not be fobbed off with ay substitutes! As I type someone has given me a link to a website where they target companies to allow non-binary people the right to their correct identity.

So come on Sky release me from the cage you have me locked in and treat me a like the human being I am. It’s MX not MR!

As many have noticed I’m happy being Hope. I love my life. I do what I want to do. I don’t want to wear a wig or dresses that don’t suit me. I want to be me. I’m great at playing me. I love short skirts, stockings and cool shoes. I love my lace thongs from Asda. I love my make-up from Lush and I love my pink glasses from Emporio Armani.

I still love the same bands as I’ve always done.

I love to write, I love to talk and communicate about issues that need raising.

I love to take photo’s – Usually of beautiful old buildings and landscapes.

I’m vegan! No animal abuse in my life!

I love a drink and a laugh in no particular order.

I’m Pansexual. In other words I’m not limited in sexual choice with regard to biological sex, gender, or gender identity.

Finally like my name ‘Hope’. I chose it because I love the name. Also I hope one day we can all live as one on planet earth without all the hate we live amongst in the present time!

Here’s hoping my wish of a better world comes sooner rather than later!

A special thanks to: Steve and Rose at Steve D Tog for the photo’s you see in this blog bar the Sky letter. Excellent people to work with. Trans friendly too! Bands may want to get in contact with them for videos. They come highly recommended!

Published by:

Street Voice UK

Street Voice UK came about at the start of the digital age in 1996. We had been publishing magazines and promoting live events as far as back in 1982. Most of our work has been lost since the sudden demise of My Space so we started again elsewhere after a short break. Over the years we have worked with my bands, models and PR companies throughout the world. Our current mailing list boasts 43200 legitimate subscribers from around the globe. Since 1982 we have remained non-profit and will continue to do so. We deliver a professional service and working with is very effective to sell your product at no cost to yourself. PR: Hope DIY

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

