Watch Out There’s A Tranny About!

Watch out there’s a tranny about is such an apt title because it’s so true.

Even in LGBT circles the ‘T’ is still fairly new for people transitioning be it male to female or vice-versa. It’s even harder for people to understand in everyday life so there are constant stares, the odd bit of laughing and of course the name calling too!

Only last week I was in a shop looking for a blouse to wear with a 50’s Swing skirt I bought off line. While I was standing there in a world of my own someone got on their knees to have a look up my skirt. A store assistant noticed what was happening and put an end to it immediately! Now if a person wants to know what panties I’m wearing or if I’ve a penis / vulva they only have to ask!

Even going to Pride can be a bit or miss for the transgender / transsexual community. The rest of the LBG community look on us at times with little trust or accepting why we identify the way we do. However it was cool going to Liverpool Pride as that was very inclusive. There were open talks where people from the trans community got up and spoke. I loved how the two transwomen in the above photo came across. They were brilliant!

It’s great when someone wants to have their photo taken for the right reasons with you. Sadly others don’t and just want to mock you for being you! I have had incidents which have had to be dealt with – One involving the police. At least the police came down on my side! Other trans people haven’t been so lucky and left feeling a mistrust for the police.

It’s always been a positive experience with the LGSM too. Very friendly people who I’m glad their story has now been told in the form of the movie ‘Pride’. If you haven’t heard of the LGSM check them out and if you’ve not seen the film ‘Pride’ yet you’re missing out! I just wish other groups were as friendly towards Trans people as the LGSM are!

I loved being out with my friend Marie the other day in London. We got the odd stare and comment muttered under people’s breath. It’s great knowing Marie as we’ve supported one another for the past year. A solid friendship that developed from some dark times.

However London hasn’t always been a safe place. Last year when I came out as trans some man lifted up my dress to reveal to the world what underwear I was wearing. He got his comeuppance but should never have come to that.

Even closer to home you can’t get away from prejudice. I get some looks when I walk my dog around above pool from some of the locals. Oh well!

It isn’t just straight people that can be a problem. Transvestites can be a right pain too! The ones that identified as transvestites usually want to know about my underwear. I’ve even been touched on my thighs by a so called transvestite man. He took it badly that I pushed him away. No one touches me even if my legs are bare and I’ve a short skirt on!

I’m Hope – I’m 48 and am transgender. I am optimistic about the future and that’s why I changed my name by deedpole. I am very confident in myself. I don’t any bad experiences get to me. However transphobia needs talking about as other transgender / transsexual people aren’t so confident. I want them to feel confident too – Hence why I share my experiences.

Please understand and learn to treat people (no matter how they identify) how you would like to be treated. That’s all I ask!

Thank you for reading!

Hope DIY

Published by:

Street Voice UK

Street Voice UK came about at the start of the digital age in 1996. We had been publishing magazines and promoting live events as far as back in 1982. Most of our work has been lost since the sudden demise of My Space so we started again elsewhere after a short break. Over the years we have worked with my bands, models and PR companies throughout the world. Our current mailing list boasts 43200 legitimate subscribers from around the globe. Since 1982 we have remained non-profit and will continue to do so. We deliver a professional service and working with is very effective to sell your product at no cost to yourself. PR: Hope DIY

2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Watch Out There’s A Tranny About!”

Leave a Reply

