Still Not Asking For It …. Men Need To Stop Cat Calling / Sexually Assaulting / Raping!

It’s been 7 months now I’ve been open about being transgender and transitioning. I first started off wearing Animal dresses but they weren’t really me. I opted for micro skirts. I love them especially when I’m wearing pink tights or fishnet stockings with them. They’re the best! I feel so comfortable in them.

The vest in the photo is mid-thigh so I’ve started wearing that as a summer dress. As it’s a vest it clings to the body where I wear a lace thong underneath. The shape of the thong can be seen through the vest. I got asked in my local shop by a couple standing behind me what gender underwear I was wearing. At first I thought of telling them where to go but I suggested they get on their knees and look up what they saw as a micro dress.

Some of the regular readers may remember reading a previous blog where the above photo shoot took place. Slut shaming right through to transphobia were the order of the day. Someone even tried filming me as my skirt lifted in the breeze! Unreal!

Previous occasions I’ve been touched up – Men thinking it was clever to feel by bum by slipping their hand under my skirts when my back was turned.

It is annoying and who knows how far men will go with me to humiliate me and the ones that have blame me for what I’m wearing! Victim blaming! We’ve all heard that before! So it’s all my fault! Yeah … Right!

However what I’ve experienced is nothing what women go through. From cat calling to being touched up to sexual assault to rape happens on a daily basis.

In 2013 the Ministry Of Justice released these stats:

1. Approximately 85,000 women are raped on average in England and Wales every year.

2. Over 400,000 women are sexually assaulted each year.

3.1 in 5 women (aged 16 – 59) has experienced some form of sexual violence since the age of 16.

That’s just the recorded stats. Many more women don’t report their rapes or sexual assaults to the police due to the court system failing them!

Men and some women often victim blame. If they don’t slut-shame a woman for what she was wearing they try and blame her for drinking if any was involved.

The bottom line is a woman should be able to dress how she wants and that includes being naked in public. A woman should be able to drink what she likes without fear too! Its men that are the problem! Men need to stop cat calling, men need to stop sexually assaulting and men need to stop raping!

Only yesterday the above front page appeared in an Essex based newspaper.

How dare they suggest women stop going to a park. Why not ask men not to enter the park as they are the ones raping. I expect women who are attacked in that part will be blamed if they get raped for entering the park. No women entering that park were asking for it. None of the women who enter it in the future are going to be asking for it either!

Above are some tweets from the Everyday Sexism Page.

Men think women are asking for it just by being there. They think that women are there to be used and abused. In reality it is the men that are the problem. Just because women are there doesn’t mean they are asking for it!

I’ve said what I’ve had to say. Men need to stop their bullshit and start respecting. I’ll leave the last words to Louise Pennington below!

Published by:

Street Voice UK

Street Voice UK came about at the start of the digital age in 1996. We had been publishing magazines and promoting live events as far as back in 1982. Most of our work has been lost since the sudden demise of My Space so we started again elsewhere after a short break. Over the years we have worked with my bands, models and PR companies throughout the world. Our current mailing list boasts 43200 legitimate subscribers from around the globe. Since 1982 we have remained non-profit and will continue to do so. We deliver a professional service and working with is very effective to sell your product at no cost to yourself. PR: Hope DIY

2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Still Not Asking For It …. Men Need To Stop Cat Calling / Sexually Assaulting / Raping!”

Leave a Reply

